Please fax this nomination form to Pat Childerhose, at Fellowes HS - fax: (613) 735-6850 by April 23rd.

THE PETE BEACH AWARD

The Pete Beach Award is named in honour of Mr. N. A. Pete Beach, a former Executive Director of OFSAA, who died in 1984. Mr. Beach recognized, early in his career, that school sport possessed a substantial and verifiable trait of the capacity to contribute beyond sport to a young person's future career and life. For the next fifty years, he devoted his energy to the organizational development of school sport and thus to the service of young people.

In view of the complexity of the developmental process, it is a rare educator indeed who has the capacity to utilize the medium of school sport in such a way as to positively and sufficiently influence students in the remainder of their lives. That educator is one who consistently provides an impression of stability and optimism, one who enjoys the company, and the respect, of young people; one who embodies, and initiates by example, the highest traditions of the sportsperson; one who best typifies the true function of the teacher-coach - a source of discipline, a mentor and a friend.

CRITERIA FOR SELECTION

- 1. During his / her career the nominee has been:
 - a) Active as a teacher coach
 - b) Active as a Local Association, EOSSAA, Regional and/or OFSAA convenor
 - c) Active in administration of EOSSAA activities, i.e., SAC, CBA, CGA, Board of Directors, Standing Committee
 - d) Influential in the development of their student-athletes as a source of discipline, as a mentor and as a friend

NOMINEE	LOCAL ASSOC
A. CONTRIBUTIONS AS A TEACHER-COACH	
B. CONTRIBUTIONS AS A CONVENOR	
C. CONTRIBUTIONS IN ATHLETIC ADMINISTS	RATION OF EOSSAA ACTIVITIES
D. <u>PERSONAL ATTRIBUTES</u>	

PETE BEACH AWARD SELECTION PROCESS

- 1. a) The Nomination forms shall be sent to all Local Association Presidents by the EOSSAA Secretary prior to the Fall Board of Directors meeting.
 - b) If a Local Association has a nominee, the completed nomination form must be received by the EOSSAA Secretary prior to the Spring Board of Directors meeting.
 - c) Nominee may be active, retired or deceased teacher-coaches.
- 2. a) The President shall review the nominees with the Board of Directors at the Spring meeting.
 - b) After EOSSAA having considered the merit of the nominees, the Board shall select a recipient at the Spring Board of Directors meeting.
 - c) The EOSSAA Secretary shall inform OFSAA of the name of the recipient no later than May 15th.
 - d) The recipient shall be presented with the award at the annual meeting of the EOSSAA Legislative Council.
 - e) The recipient shall be the guest of EOSSAA at the annual meeting luncheon.

PREVIOUS WINNERS

2008					
2007			1997	Elaine Pritchard	UOVHSAA
2006			1996	Ron Hungerford	LGSSAA
2005	Mark Lewis	LGSSAA	1995	Stan Fraser	SD&GSSAA
2004	Norie Spence	LGSSAA	1994	Barry O'Connor	KASSAA
2003	Pat Patterson	LGSSAA	1993	Betty Mulville	LCIAA
2002	Dale Huddleston	KASSAA	1992	Wanda Mitchell	SD&GSSAA
2001	Betty Ann Nolan-Steacy	LGSSAA	1991	John Metcalfe	
2000	Bruce Black	KASSAA	1990	Doug Fraser	KASSAA
1999	Bob Vedan	PRSSAA	1989	Jackie Fraser	SD&GSSAA
1998	Tom Marshall	LCIAA	1988	Mary Anne Edgeworth	KASSAA
			1987	Donat Poirier	SD&GSSAA
			1986	Bob Fazackerly	LGSSAA